Sowell Scholars Faculty Grant

The recipient of the Sowell Scholars Faculty Grant shall be awarded \$2,500 a year, for a three-year period, to pursue scholarly research that leads to peer-reviewed publication within the humanities (as generally defined in the Faculty Manual). The main focus of the work should not be on teaching. The recipient must be a member of the Juniata College Faculty, but does not have to hold an appointment within a humanities discipline.

Applicants will submit a c.v. and a brief proposal of no more than three pages in length that describes the scope and importance of the project, outlines a three-year plan for the project, and explains how the funds will help lead to publication. Applications are due in the Office of the Provost by 5:00 pm on Friday, February 1, 2019.

A panel composed of Lauren Bowen, Provost and Professor of Politics (chair), Alison Fletcher, Professor and Chair of History, and Meredith Goldsmith, Associate Dean and Professor of English at Ursinus College, will review the proposals and select a winner based on the excellence of the proposal. We will make our decision and announce the inaugural recipient by June 1, 2019. Prior to receiving funding for the second and third years, the recipient must provide the Provost by May 25 a report of about two pages in length, describing the work completed during the previous year. Three months following the end of the third year (September 1), the recipient will provide the Provost a final report of no more than three pages in length, describing how the funds supported the recipient's project. Upon publication of the work, the recipient will give one copy of the work to Beeghly Library.

In making its decisions, the panel should give priority to proposals that identify how the funding will directly help the applicant achieve the goal of publication, as opposed to proposals that identify how, for example, the funding will help the project get started. The panel should make its decision independent of whether the applicant has received or will receive other funding (e.g., from the Professional Development Committee).